COUNCIL

Monday 18 May 2015

COUNCILLORS PRESENT: Councillors Abbasi (Lord Mayor), Humberstone (Sheriff), Simmons (Deputy Lord Mayor), Altaf-Khan, Anwar, Benjamin, Brown, Clack, Clarkson, Cook, Coulter, Darke, Fry, Gant, Goddard, Gotch, Haines, Hayes, Henwood, Hollick, Hollingsworth, Kennedy, Lygo, Malik, Munkonge, Paule, Pressel, Price, Rowley, Sanders, Seamons, Simm, Sinclair, Smith, Tanner, Taylor, Turner, Upton, Wade and Wolff.

Tribute to Val Smith, former Councillor

The Lord Mayor informed Council that former councillor Val Smith had recently died. Councillor Simm paid tribute to Mrs Smith's long and distinguished service to the Council, to the city, and to Blackbird Leys community. Members stood for a minute's silence in her memory.

1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2015/16

Councillor Seamons proposed and Councillor Altaf-Khan seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Humberstone be elected as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2015/16.

Councillor Humberstone took the Chair from Councillor Abbasi and subsequently signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2015/16

Councillor Sanders proposed and Councillor Simmons seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Cook be elected as Deputy Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2015/16.

Councillor Cook subsequently signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2015/16

Councillor Turner proposed and Councillor Tanner seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Malik be elected as Sheriff for the Council Year 2015/6.

Councillor Malik subsequently signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Fooks, Lloyd-Shogbesan, Royce, Tarver, and Van Nooijen.

5. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR

The Lord Mayor made no announcements.

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chief Executive made no announcements.

7. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2015/16

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report and supplementary paper which invited Council to appoint Committees for the Council Year 2015/16 and councillors to these.

Council resolved to:

- 1. note the arrangements for determining Political Groups and achieving political balance within the Political Governance arrangements;
- 2. appoint the bodies as currently defined within the Council's Constitution and included in the table in the report;
- 3. agree the nominations to committees made by political groups and attached within a document circulated separately (and as shown below);
- 4. appoint Councillor Pressel to the Joint Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- 5. agree that all members of Council will form the pool of members able to observe on appeals and some grievances; and
- 6. authorise the Head of Law and Governance to make any changes to the Constitution as a consequence of these decisions.

Committee (membership)	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee (15)	10 members Farida Anwar Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter James Fry David Henwood Mark Lygo Chewe Munkonge Scott Seamons Dee Sinclair	3 members Steve Goddard Mike Gotch Liz Wade	2 members Dick Wolff Ruthi Brandt
Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (1)	Susanna Pressel		
Appeals	All Councillors		
General Purposes and Licensing Committee (10)	7 members Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter Rae Humberstone Pat Kennedy Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Mark Lygo	2 members Andrew Gant Gwynneth Royce	1 member Dick Wolff
Appointments Committee (5)	4 members Pat Kennedy Bob Price Gill Sanders Ed Turner	1 member Jean Fooks	

Audit and Governance Committee (7)	5 members Van Coulter Roy Darke James Fry Chewe Munkonge Michele Paule	1 member Jean Fooks	1 member David Thomas
Standards Committee (7)	5 members Bev Clack James Fry Susanna Pressel Gill Sanders Mike Rowley	1 member Gwynneth Royce	1 member Dick Wolff
East Area Planning Committee (9)	6 members Farida Anwar Van Coulter Mary Clarkson Roy Darke David Henwood Sian Taylor	2 members Mohammed Altaf Khan Ruth Wilkinson	1 member Ruthi Brandt
West Area Planning Committee (9)	6 members Colin Cook Alex Hollingsworth Bob Price John Tanner Louise Upton Oscar Van Nooijen	2 members Andrew Gant Mike Gotch	1 member Elise Benjamin
Planning Review Committee (9)	6 members James Fry Pat Kennedy Mark Lygo Michele Paule Chewe Munkonge Dee Sinclair	2 members Steve Goddard Jean Fooks	1 member Sam Hollick
Scrutiny Committee (12)	9 members Van Coulter Roy Darke James Fry Tom Hayes David Henwood Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Linda Smith Sian Taylor Louise Upton	1 member Mohammed Altaf Khan	2 members Sam Hollick Craig Simmons
Disciplinary Committee (4)	3 members Van Coulter Susanna Pressel Bob Price		1 member Elise Benjamin

8. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Price thanked Councillor Lygo for his work during his time on the City Executive Board and welcomed Councillor Hollingsworth onto the Board.

He notified Council that the City Executive Board portfolio holders, champions and policy leads for 2015/16 were:

City Executive Board Portfolios 2015/2016

Councillor Price, Council Leader - Corporate Strategy and Economic

Development

Councillor Turner, Deputy Leader - Finance, Corporate Asset Management

and Public Health

Councillor Brown - Customer and Corporate Services

Councillor Holling worth - Customer and Corporate Services

Councillor Hollingsworth - Planning, Transport and Regulatory

Services

Councillor Kennedy - Young People, Schools and Skills

Councillor Rowley - Leisure, Parks and Sport

Councillor Sinclair - Crime, Community Safety and Licensing

Councillor Seamons - Housing

Councillor Simm - Culture and Communities

Councillor Tanner - Climate Change and Cleaner Greener

Oxford

Champions and Policy Leads 2015/16

These positions are not formally constituted but are in addition to the Board Member responsibilities.

Councillor Clarkson - The Covered Market

Councillor Sanders - Older Citizens
Councillor Fry - Small Business

Councillor Lygo - Events

9. COUNCIL SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR 2015/16

Council resolved to reaffirm for the Council Year 2015/16 its agreement to the Council's Scheme of Delegation set out in Section 5 of the Council's Constitution.

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and ended at 4.15 pm